downloadWe are excited to welcome the Appalachian College Association (ACA) as an Option 2 member of the NMC! The ACA is a non-profit consortium of 35 private four-year liberal arts institutions spread across the central Appalachian Mountains in Kentucky, North Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Founded in 1993, the ACA provides professional development opportunities for faculty and staff, including an array of online workshops, an annual summit, fellowships, and travel grants. Students at ACA institutions can take advantage of numerous scholarships and research experiences that support their educational endeavors. The ACA also offers it member institutions access to shared technology resources that enhance teaching and learning.

The ACA counts six research universities (University of Kentucky, University of North Carolina, University of Tennessee, West Virginia University, University of Virginia, and Virginia Tech) in the region as part of its membership. Collectively, these universities serve over 54,000 students.

>Follow the Appalachian College Association on Twitter
>Like the Appalachian College Association on Facebook


About The Author

Victoria Estrada has been contributing her writing, research, and editing skills to the NMC Horizon Project since 2012. Before that, she was learning from stellar English language instructors at La Universidad Nacional in Costa Rica, where she worked for a year with a Fulbright grant. Victoria has a Certificate in Non-profit Leadership and Management from Austin Community College, and a bachelor's degree in English Writing & Rhetoric from St. Edward's University. Some of her other interests include people, flora & fauna, sustainability, good coffee, good causes, and photos. She has recently relocated to her hometown -- San Antonio, Texas.