The NMC Center of Excellence Award distinguishes NMC member institutions that have demonstrated an exceptional record of success in the integration of technology with teaching, learning, or creative expression at NMC member institutions.

The success of the institution is evidenced by the quality of faculty or student work that is in some way connected to the efforts of the institution; by the effectiveness of the institution in advancing the integration of technology with teaching, learning, or creative expression; by the impact on the work of students and learning within the institution; or by its influence on practitioners across the academy.

Nominate your institution by April 1st for 2018!

Selection Criteria
The criteria the NMC CoE jury uses to review each institution’s submission is as follows:

Creative, forward-thinking, ahead of the game, and/or innovator status of a new pedagogical integration of technology

Demonstrated application across BOTH the institution/organization and among other institutions/organizations

Demonstrated successful outcomes across BOTH the institution/organization and among other institutions/organizations

Demonstrated change/influence of culture across the education landscape

NMC Horizon Connection
Clear link to a trend, challenge, or developing technology in the most recent NMC Horizon Report — OR — probable leading edge issue/technology for a future NMC Horizon Report. (View the most recent Higher Ed, library, K-12, and museum reports.)

The award is granted without regard to the size of an institution’s staff or resources, and in a manner that ensures equal consideration to successful efforts large and small. Please note that we will not accept submissions that have won an NMC Center of Excellence Award in the past five years — previous winners can be found here.

[View the playlist of several past NMC CEO Award Recipients]

Past NMC Center of Excellence Award Recipients:

> 2017 California State University Channel Islands

> 2017 Universidad Estatal a Distancia de Costa Rica

> 2016 University of Central Florida

> 2016 University of Colorado Denver

> 2015 University of Texas, El Paso

> 2015 University of Nevada, Las Vegas

> 2013 CSEV

> 2013 The Ohio State University

> 2012 Ball State University

> 2012 St. Edward’s University

> 2011 Apple Education

> 2011 Full Sail University

> 2011 University of Southern California, Institute for Multimedia Literacy

> 2010 Tulane University

> 2010 Pennsylvania State University

> 2010 Houston Community College System

> 2009 La Universitat Oberta Catalunya

> 2009 The Center for Digital Storytelling

> 2009 Abilene Christian University

> 2008 Rochester Institute of Technology

> 2008 University of Maryland, Baltimore County

> 2007 Otis College of Art and Design

> 2007 University if Wisconsin, Madison

> 2007 University of British Columbia

> 2006 Case Western Reserve University

> 2006 University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

> 2006 San Francisco Museum of Modern Art

> 2005 California State University, Chico

> 2005 Wesleyan University

> 2005 The University of Texas at Austin

> 2004 Kent State University

> 2004 Uuniversity of California, Berkeley

> 2004 Johns Hopkins University

> 2003 Medical College of Ohio

> 2003 Maricopa Community Colleges

> 2003 Pasadena City College

> 2002 California State University System

> 2002 Carleton College

> 2002 City College of New York

> 2002 Northeastern University

> 2002 University of Calgary

Honorable Mentions:

> 2017 Griffith University

> 2017 University of Western Australia

> 2017 Arizona State University

> 2017 Rochester Institute of Technology